Uncategorized

Staying Present on a Sick Day

At this time, my students are coming in from recess.

I didn’t get a sub. I doubt anyone is covering my entire day. I suspect staff are scrambling, covering for more desperate needs. I bet my 7 little people are struggling. I hope I am missed, but not too much.

I’m home with a sick 2YO. He’s had a cough. I’ve been sending him to daycare regardless of this worsening cold, and I just couldn’t handle it anymore. He coughed from 2am onward Sunday morning, and this morning, 4am to 5am. Poor little guy.

After putting in a sub request for today, I emailed the powers that be that I’d possibly be out. I got no response from the higher-ups. The sub job didn’t fill, as anticipated. I woke up and noticed 2YO hadn’t coughed all night long, at least that I’d heard. So I contemplated cancelling the sub request and going in. At 4am, he started coughing. He coughed for an hour and remained asleep through it all. I decided I’d keep him home.

So here I am. He is napping now. He seems to be feeling okay, and I’ll be back to work tomorrow.

My students are starting reading now.

And despite knowing that, despite knowing deep in my heart how it’s going over there, I don’t feel too bad. Not really. I am glad to be able to be here with the sick little love of my life, available for snuggles and comfort, songs and coloring. It’s where I belong, right here, right now.

1 thought on “Staying Present on a Sick Day”

Leave a comment