Uncategorized

2022- That’s a Wrap

I heard these questions on a podcast and wrote them down. I have answers, too, for my 2022 in Review.

3 words to describe 2022

  1. Burnout/mental health.
    • I was feeling burnt out from my full time job for most of this year. Sometimes this was because I was anxious about leaving my son at daycare. Sometimes I lacked adult connection at work. And I even switched anti-depressants to find a better combination.
  2. Toddler.
    • For the vast majority of 2022, I had a 2-year-old. This is by far the most fun N. has ever been. He is mobile and talkative. Tantrums were hard, and I got support from his team: Special Instructors, OT, Parents as Teachers. We worked with his team and he is in a better place now.
  3. Proud.
    • I was immensely proud of our family this year. Husband got the job he’s dreamed about and is rocking it. He also coached basketball at school and put every dollar from that away toward N’s future. N has overcome a lot of challenges related to his developmental delay, and is doing great! I am proud of my accomplishments: Sticking out my job and starting to enjoy it a little more, finishing my book and pursuing publication.

Biggest challenge of 2022

Dealing with leaving N at a daycare he hated for a job I was not enjoying.

I was so worried about what was going on at that daycare, I was taking anti-anxiety medication daily (my prescription is written “as needed”.) I wanted to stay home with him so I knew he was safe, but we couldn’t afford it. Particularly, I am insured through my job. Thankfully, we finally found a daycare we are happier with. Things are looking up at work too, because I’m not constantly worrying about my child.

Best moment of 2022

Watching my child thrive on a horse! He was nervous the first time, and wouldn’t let me leave his side. He wanted to get down, and I wonder if his muscles were tired from the workout. But the next two days he was excited. He liked it when he got to trot. I could leave his side, and he would call to me to show me things. We still talk about it six months later! He was impressed by the horses’ poops. We will be pursuing therapeutic horseback riding again 2023 summer.

Biggest thing I’ve learned in 2022

If you don’t like it, change it.

This has applied many places.We switched to a new daycare. I outgrew my anti-depressant I was on for a decade. (My body outsmarted it, obviously!) I tried a few combinations that didn’t work and found something that does. I also saw a dermatologist for my acne that I’m definitely over. I am seeing my eye doctor in the new year to look into contacts again. I’m working toward my career as an author. Who knows whether that will ever lead to being full time employment? I can’t imagine it would soon, but who knows about someday? I’m working on it, and I will have my work in the hands of readers.

What do I want to do more of this year 

  • Write: Fiction and journaling.
  • Get outside: With Noah and without.
  • Seek God: More intentional prayer, more church, more Bible reading, more sermons during the week.

What to do less of in 2023

  • Complain. Goes back to if I don’t like it, do something about it to change it. Complaining is a waste of energy, time, and really only hurts me and my relationship with the listener of my complaints (often Husband gets the brunt, or my mom.)
  • Worry. I spent a lot of time this year worrying. I will work to improve my life and lives of my family members and enjoy it by advocating for myself and my family.

Word for 2023

Cherish. Not just survive. but enjoy my life. We only get one. I am grateful for my relationships and I’ll keep telling them so.

That’s all for now – sending love and gratitude to you, Readers!

Leave a comment