Family, Marriage

The Hope Nail Polish Brought

IMG_1865.jpgOn Friday, we went to the store to buy toilet paper, deodorant, and a few other essentials. Before we checked out, I picked up a $4 bottle of baby-girl-pink nail polish.

To me, this is a huge deal. The last time I bought something for just myself that wasn’t an absolute necessity (like contact lens cleaner) was my hula hoop, back in June, which was with less than $20 of birthday gift cash. I can’t remember beyond that, it’s truly been that long, despite my sunglasses breaking, or only owning one pair of capri pants that fit.

The nail polish is symbolic for me: We are finally getting back on our feet. My husband started work again this week, substitute teaching. His first full check will be Friday. My first almost-full paycheck since the school year started back up was this past Wednesday, and because of my raise, it was great. Our guest room tenant is still paying us bi-weekly. I haven’t been getting babysitting gigs much since school started, which finally feels like it will be okay.

Maybe we can get Honey groomed soon, even though cooler weather is starting now. Maybe I’ll finally be able to pay the bill for that x-ray I got after my car accident. Maybe we can choose to buy a new light bulb to replace the one in the kitchen that’s out. Maybe I won’t have to take every single odd job that is offered to me, and can relax on the weekends if I choose. Maybe I’ll start buying the more expensive fish oil that was recommended by my psychiatrist and actually did help my moods, but is not covered by insurance. Maybe we’ll get the seatbelt in Jason’s car fixed so I can safely ride shotgun again. Maybe I’ll be able to pay my required social dues at work before October ends.

Maybe someday we’ll get a new bed, since ours has been broken and deflated for years, causing Jason back problems. Maybe someday I’ll get the AC fixed in my car, so next summer I can drive around comfortably for the first time since I’ve had this car.

And after all that, maybe we’ll go to some sporting events together. We could get breakfast at our favorite café once in a while on a Saturday morning. I can buy that digital CD that I’ve been listening to on Youtube on repeat. We can donate to charities that we’ve wanted to support for years. Maybe we’ll finally feel comfortable enough to live on our own and finally turn that always-occupied guest room into a nursery.

I’m so grateful for this opportunity for Jason and for our family. I’m so grateful for Jason’s willingness to do whatever it takes to support us. And side note: he is amazing at this job that if I were working, I would hate. I’m so very proud of him. He is my rock. Thank God.

Leave a comment